The Cut Rocky Gap Strathmore Brown Eyed Susan Bay Bridge Crab Drum Point Harbour Oriole Statehouse Pax River Midshipmen

The Program

Leadership Maryland, an independent statewide leadership program to develop informed senior-level leaders was created in 1992 to cultivate the interest, the statewide knowledge and the leadership capacities of Maryland’s leaders. Fifty accomplished and diverse leaders are selected for the program annually by their peers.


The People

Our members are the top leaders in Maryland. They represent businesses, education, government, nonprofits and labor unions. Our goal is to ensure that each class includes diversity in ethnicity, age, gender, industry, and geography.  It is this diversity of opinions and perspectives that makes the program meaningful and rewarding.


The Professor

Eliot Pfanstiehl is not really a professor, but he is our incredibly talented and skilled facilitator, and he is the CEO of Strathmore. Leadership Maryland President and CEO Renee Winsky '05 and Eliot nurture each class through mindful exposure to complex policy issues, supplemented with access to remarkable leaders and institutions.


Class of 2015 Visits Southern Maryland

The Class of 2015 just finished up their Education/Southern Region session. They visited the Patuxent Naval Air Station, Capt. Jack Russell's Chesapeake Bay Field Laboratory, Historic St. Mary's City, and the James A. Forrest Career & Technology Center. They tackeled issues related to education, including the Maryland College and Career Ready Standards, Charter Schools, and America's Shortage of Qualified Workers. Click here for a few photos.

Members Making News at the Maryland Economic Development Association (MEDA) Annual Conference

Congratulations to Kimberly A. Clark '09 for being elected MEDA Vice Chair! Also congratulate David Iannucci '01 and Raymond A. Skinner '08 for being named to the MEDA Hall of Fame for their respective contributions to Maryland’s economic development community!

Over 30 Leadership Maryland members attended the MEDA Annual Conference. Many gathered for a photo op (see below). Also noted below with an (*) are Leadership Maryland members who were elected to the MEDA Board of Directors.

Those in attendance: Danita M. Boonchaisri '08, Dyan L. Brasington '98, Robert C. Brennan '04 (*), Asuntha M. Chiang-Smith '11, Kimberly A. Clark '09 (*), Hon. David R. Craig '03, Brian P. Darmody '06 (*), Charlotte L. Davis '14, Hon. Adelaide Eckardt '01, Hon. James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D. '98, Carol A. Gilbert '09, Bonnie Marie Green '07, Shelly M. Gross-Wade '07, Hugh E. Grunden '03, David Iannucci '01, Thomas H. Jarboe '06, Sean M. Looney '96 (*),Wm. 'Sandy' McAllister, Jr., Esq. '94, Stephen R. McHenry '02, Alexander G. Núñez, Esq. '05, Dr. Mel D. Powell '98, Rhonda J. Ray '14 (*), Robert A. Rosenbaum '12, Pamela J. Ruff '98, James E. Rzepkowski '05, J. Thomas Sadowski '11, Raymond A. Skinner '08, Linda S. Vassallo '07, John M. Wasilisin '05 (*), and Renée M. Winsky '05 (*). Also cited and in our photo was John J. Cullinane '14, while not attending MEDA, John was at the Hyatt for other business.